Behind the Camera

SONY DSC

As I look out my window on the cloudy day and listen to my John Mayer Pandora I start reminiscing on the older pictures that I took 6-7 years ago.
I start to realize how fast time flies, time goes on by and then we won’t realize until, sometimes, it’s to late.

If someone asked me today, “Kayla, what was your first camera?” I’d have to say, sadly, my cell phone, which was the Env 1 by Verizon.” But, honestly, my first real camera, I believe, was a Nikon or Samsung. Not the fanciest, but it did it’s job well. I remember when I got my first professional camera, on Christmas day, I was smiling from ear to ear.

IPhone pics 150

When I was young, I’d ask my parents, “Can I PLEASE borrow the camcorder for a bit?!” of course, back then, it was a huge black camcorder, but I’d go around videoing like crazy, just random videos around the house. I was always so excited. I finally got my first mini camcorder in my early teens and made plenty of videos and some so stupid, I don’t understand why I posted them.

When I was a preteen, I’d make layouts for people off a game site I’d use called, “Horseland” and I’d also make a few websites on my own, I was a fan of HTML codes. I could spend hours on a comp just editing away and getting new ideas.

WILLOW!! 2011 017

Rather I’d be asking my friends if they model for me.
Rather it’d be photo sessions I was asked to do.
Rather it’d be pictures of horses I was selling that were mine or someone else’s.
Sometimes, I’d see a good shot and have an idea and ask them to take the pic of me.
I don’t know how many pictures or discs I have of pictures, I’ve lost count. Ha!

Either way, I’ve been photography obsessed since I don’t know when.

Ride em and love em 005

Point is, life is going to keep passing, and until we stop to take it in, no matter the moment, good or bad, you could miss out on SO much.

When I take pictures, it’s about the moment, present, something to just cherish and look back on.
I get upset sometimes if I miss out on a great opportunity to get a picture.
So, stop and breathe in the moment.
Take in the details of life and look at the big picture while you’re at it.

Anyone can look at a picture very closely, but until you step back, you won’t see the real moment.
The world and life is like a canvas, embrace every bit.

Photography.
My art.
My passion.
My love.
Not a day goes by without one kind of picture to take.

SONY DSC

So, grab a seat or take an adventure and live in the moment.

Leave a Reply

